Write your own Letters to DFW


Blogger Here.

Wallace’s writing touches each of us in unique ways, but what we have in common is how personally it touches us.  We each feel a deep personal connection to both the words on the page and the man behind those words.

I have spent almost two and a half years reading and responding to his stories and essays, and now I want to extend an invitation to my readers to join me in writing Letters to DFW.  I am opening up this blog for others to share their experiences and reflections on Wallace’s writing.

Here’s what I’m looking for:

Personal / Reflective / Responsive essays about any of DFW’s works.  Academic and scholarly insight is great, but I also want those gut-level reactions to the text.  How does it move you?  What connections do you find to real-life events or other works of literature?
I’d also love reflections on the Symposium last weekend (still sad I missed it).
Essays should be in the 500- to 2000-word range.  Please send them as MS Word documents.  Footnotes are highly encouraged.
Email me at ryan.blanck@gmail.com if you’re interested in writing your own Letters to DFW.
Leave a Reply

