“Consider David Foster Wallace” Conference – February 18


A little over a month ago I came across a posting on The Howling Fantods about the DFW Symposium at the Harry Ransom Center in April.  It is scheduled for the start of my Spring Break, so it wouldn’t really require me to take (much) time off work.  But a quick search on Orbitz.com confirmed what I already suspected: there is no way in hell I can afford a trip to Austin, TX, especially when I am still paying off my trip to Antwerp last September.  I thought and thought for several days; surely there must be a way to make it work.  But alas, the cold, hard truth settled in that I won’t be able to attend and that I will have to wait awhile before I’m able to make the pilgrimage to the Archives, the Mecca for Wallace fans and scholars.

I had passed through the stages of grief and arrived at a place of acceptance when a friend of mine posted an announcement for the “Consider David Foster Wallace” Conference on February 18 hosted by Pomona College.  I very quickly cleared my schedule and then clicked the “attend” button on the Facebook event page.

It’s not the Symposium I hoped to attend, and it doesn’t feature all of the same speakers that will be in Austin.  But it’s only a 90-minute drive from home.

And it will be an opportunity to fellowship with other fans and readers and scholars, a chance to discuss the man and his writing that we know and love so much.

And I can’t wait for Saturday to get here.

I plan to take copious notes while I’m there so that I can report back here on the evening’s festivities.  If there is unblocked access to a wifi hot spot, I may even try a little live blogging on Twitter (we’ll see how that goes; I’m a pretty bad typist as it is and even worse on my iPod keyboard).

I’m really, really looking forward to attending, and I can’t wait to share the experience with you all.

Leave a Reply

