Birthday Cakes Revisited


My wife started a new blogging endeavor about six weeks ago, chronicling her life as a stay-at-home mom.  One of my wife’s favorite hobbies – and a very popular topic on her blog – is making specialty birthday cakes.  She recently posted an entry about my last two birthday cakes, both of which were inspired by this blog project.  The first DFW-inspired cake she made me was a cake in the shape of a book version of my blog that I hope to publish someday.  The second was in the shape of the SS Nadir, the cruise ship featured in Wallace’s essay, “A Supposedly Fun Thing I’ll Never Do Again.”  The first time I posted pictures of the Nadir cake, this blog got over five hundred hits in just a few days and my wife got a marriage proposal (if things ever go south for us).

Anyway, here is the post on her blog about my DFW-inspired birthday cakes:

http://sahmscrapbook.wordpress.com/2011/08/18/dfw-cakes/

Leave a Reply

