The Task at Hand


My first stop in preparation for this journey was DFW’s Wikipedia page (is there a better, more reliable source out there?).  There I read the brief summary of his life, which was highlighted with his many accomplishments in his short life.  About 3/4 of the way down the page was his bibliography, thus giving me my reading assignment for 2010. 

Here is a list, in no particular order, of the books he wrote and that I will read in the upcoming year (the numbers in parentheses are the number of pages):

The Broom of the System (480)

Infinite Jest (1104)

Girl with Curious Hair (384)

Brief Interviews with Hideous Men (336)

Oblivion: Stories (336)

Signifying Rappers: Rap and Race in the Urban Present [with Mark Costello]  (140)

A Supposedly Fun Thing I’ll Never Do Again (368)

Everything and More: A Compact History of Infinity (368)

Consider the Lobster (343)

This is Water (144)

While looking up these works on Amazon.com to check their page lengths, I came across several biographies that I will most likely add to the list above.  But the grand total thus far is 4003 pages in 365 days (too bad next year is not a Leap Year; I’d get an extra day to read), or roughly 11 pages per day.  Not too bad.

Stay tuned to find out which book is first.

Leave a Reply

